The Rendition of Mahen Arar

I’m a naturalized Canadian citizen

but a Syrian by birth.

But they sneered I was a terrorist.

So they cuffed & put me in a plane

 for Damascus

where they were ready with their electrodes.

Their European allies

turned me over to the CIA staff.

I had to suffer severe beatings

so Americans could sleep in peace.

My mind almost left me:
God wouldn’t even speak to me!

That was two years ago.

When they snatched me from my family

who nearly went insane

waiting for a word or two from my

prison cell.

The Embassy has apologized for

my ordeal, however.

But the culprits won’t be extradited

by Washington to face trial in Italy.

O Lord! Deliver us

from those who seek to deliver us

from evil!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

